Tuesday, February 26, 2013

The Ward by Jordana Frankel

The Ward
Good Reads Summary
The Ward by Jordana Frankel


Sixteen-year-old Ren is a daredevil mobile racer who will risk everything to survive in the Ward, what remains of a water-logged Manhattan. To save her sister, who is suffering from a deadly illness thought to be caused by years of pollution, Ren accepts a secret mission from the government: to search for a freshwater source in the Ward, with the hope of it leading to a cure.

However, she never expects that her search will lead to dangerous encounters with a passionate young scientist; a web of deceit and lies; and an earth-shattering mystery that’s lurking deep beneath the water’s rippling surface.

Jordana Frankel’s ambitious debut novel and the first in a two-book series, The Ward is arresting, cinematic, and thrilling—perfect for fans of Scott Westerfeld or Ann Aguirre.


My Thoughts
My rating: 3 of 5 stars


I was confused about the how’s and the where’s… the where’s especially. So. yes.. I was confused, and yet, I liked it! Mainly because Ren and her inner voice made me like it. She’s funny and doesn’t see things as others do. Her main thing is being there for a sister who’s not her sister. And it’s that which makes for a sweet connection because now we know why she does whatever she does. And this girl? She does plenty of crazy things here.

Still, there’s a lot to take in minus the details that could have helped make sense of things. There’s the racing bit and Ren feeling odd one out. There’s the Washed out world split between have and have not’s. Then all those secret under cover goings-on that certain someone’s (several someone’s) were part of. And all that has Ren smack in the middle.

I liked the racing bit as it only set her apart from other YA heroines more,  only more, because she’s already different given the secret she has to keep. Hold up… she’s got several secrets in fact. Keep her sister safe. Do some snooping. And then keep her other secret safe, as well. Then there’s that’s unrequited love thing that’s partly predictable but not that big a deal, as it isn’t the main thing here *thank the gods.*

I think I’m meh over this because there were too many things going on at once. Well, I was all meh till’ things started coming together. Before that though were we to piece this apart, we could have gotten more meat out of Ren’s story (stories?) Her racing and being the only girl? Good one. Her being in a world that’s been washed out, split on the one hand with people who are living the life and on the other people who are diseased? Even better… but smoosh them together the way they were, ? Well, neither half was given the attention it deserved. Too bad... but not terrible, either.

Thank you, Edelweiss!




View all my reviews

No comments:

Post a Comment